Open Systems Interconnection (OSI)

OSI is a standard or protocol that defines the functions of a network and how data communication takes place across the network.

The OSI Model defines seven independent layers:

  1. Application
  2. Presentation
  3. Session
  4. Transport
  5. Network
  6. Data link
  7. Physical

These layers ensure that all hardware and software throughout the world could be compatible, as the OSI ensures all systems are compatible.

However, using the OSI model is purely voluntary and many applications do not use it, so there are plenty of applications out there that do not work with one another.

Challenge see if you can find out one extra fact on this topic that we haven't already told you

Click on this link: Open Systems Interconnection


back to glossaryback to glossary